Anticipation

Hi Folks

This is just a short and sweet blog today. I am about to embark on a new writing project starting tomorrow and I have that wonderful feeling of anticipation. I wondered if all writers feel that way?

The wondering what golden nuggets the research will unearth; the joy of discovery; the delight of creating a satisfying phrase; the knowledge that there will be long tedious hours where nothing works out, but they will be forgotten when one small, hitherto forgotten or unknown fact is uncovered.

That is the joy of research.

I am looking forward to it.

While researching for a non fiction whaling book I came across an ugly sea story that proved most useful for The Dundee Murders , the second novel in my 19th century crime series. While working on that novel I unearthed some very clever Glasgow shop breakers who feature in The Real Mean City, true stories about Glasgow crime in the 19th century that is due out later this month.  It is intensely satisfying when one thing leads to another like that.

So: on we go. Do others share this experience?

Malcolm

 

 

About malcolmarchibald

Happily married for 34 years to Cathy, I have three grown children and live in the depths of Moray in northern Scotland. I was educated in Edinburgh and Dundee and work as a lecturer in Inverness, while writing historical books, both fiction and fact.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anticipation

  1. Since I only have one non-fiction book I don’t get the same kind of joyful anticipation. But when I’ve got something in my head that I know is good, one of my favorite things is writing that first sentence that starts it all.

Leave a Reply

