After publication

Good afternoon people

Does anybody else share my feeling of wonderment, followed by disbelief and some discomfort after they have finally achieved an ambition? I feel that with every book I have published.

First comes the feeling of wonder; it is similar, but much less intense, to the feeling after seeing my son or daughter for the first time. A sense of creation; pride coupled with amazement.

Next comes the disbelief. How did I manage that?  There must be some mistake: I can’t do that. . . but there it is in black print on white paper beneath a bright cover. My book: Glasgow: The Real Mean City. Of course I did not do it myself; there was a whole team of experts at the publishing house, from the always cheery Kristen who edited away all my mistakes to Campbell the boss and Paul the ever efficient publicist. Without them there would only be a collection of words on sheets of electronic paper. With them and because of them, we have a book.

Third comes the discomfort: the dread that this book will not be well received. After the hundreds of hours of work, after the months of research, the agonising over what to put in and what to leave out, the torture of keeping to the best style for a book on true crime, now it is out there: alone.  Now is the time of truth: the general public and the reviewers will decide. This is the scary time.

There has been interest from the press. Kindly reporters from newspapers have interviewed me; radio stations have been in touch, and STV the Scottish Television channel have thrust me onto their website.

That was nerve racking.

But the acid test comes now

How will the public take it?

Only time will tell.

Am I unique with this medley of emotions? Or are others just the same?

Malcolm

 

 

 

About malcolmarchibald

Happily married for 34 years to Cathy, I have three grown children and live in the depths of Moray in northern Scotland. I was educated in Edinburgh and Dundee and work as a lecturer in Inverness, while writing historical books, both fiction and fact.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

