Modern true crime and the Glasgow Curse

Hi Folks

After months of not blogging, this week I have caught up with a daily blog. It will not last, but here we are again. I would like to thank everybody who has expressed an interest in the blogs so far, especially those people who have posted comments or likes. I do apprecate your viewing!

Tonight’s blog is short and sweet. I write whaling and crime fiction and non fiction and I am also working my way through a novel about the First World War. However, I also read. If anybody wishes to read a book that will tell the reality of life for a 20th and 21st century criminal, I recommend a book by William Lobban. The book is called The Glasgow Curse and, for those who have a taste for harrowing reality, it uncovers the underside of Glasgow. In case anybody does not know, Glasgow has a reputation of being the most violent city in Britain, with a gang culture that stretches back decades. In the 1920s there were gang fights with a thousand a side; bayonets and razors and bloody faces; in the 70s the football teams were notorious for hooliganism but The Glasgow Curse shows a whole new level.  As it should as the author was once Britain’s most wanted man.

On the other hand, when I met William Lobban in person, he was a perfect gentleman and even bought me a cup of coffee. There is my claim to fame: I drank coffee with a man who was once one of the most notorious gangsters in the most violent city in Britain. Now that is something to remember when writing my own historical crime books.

Keep safe

Malcolm

http://www.malcolmarchibald.com

 

 

 

About malcolmarchibald

Happily married for 34 years to Cathy, I have three grown children and live in the depths of Moray in northern Scotland. I was educated in Edinburgh and Dundee and work as a lecturer in Inverness, while writing historical books, both fiction and fact.
This entry was posted in crime, Crime; History, People, publication, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Modern true crime and the Glasgow Curse

  1. James Christie says:

    Hi Malcolm

    May have a look at this. I’m getting a bit sick of pro-independence campaigners refusing to accept there’s anything wrong with Scotland, and I did live in Glasgow for fifteen years…

    Best wishes

    James Christie

Leave a Reply

