Feelings of publication

Today my Liverpool: Gangs, Vice and Packet rats is published. It is a strange feeling to know that people will soon be reading words that I have written, and not only reading them, but actually paying to read them.

It is humbling and very scary. All these months of research, these months of head scratching horror hunting for the right word, the telling phrase, the correct anecdote to illustrate a particular point; all on public view.

The reader will only see the result and not the labour. She or he will never know the effort required to get that final effect; she or he will not be aware of the copy editing, the searching of libraries and archives, the re-writes and re-re-writes, the despair when a chapter just does not work out or the utter jubilation when information is finally located that ties a chapter together.

I remember the characters as if they were old friends rather than long dead people from the past; I remember Bob Pembleton who said ‘damn thee; you little knew Bob Pembleton if thee thought to rob him and get off without a tussle.’ I remember middle aged Ann Crelin who was abducted and dragged to Gretna Green for a forced marriage; I remember the ferocious High-rip gang and the Packet Rats who sailed to New York, the sisters who poisoned an unknown number of victims and the police who bravely battled a sea of crime. For a while that was my world, but now it is open to all the world to view.

I hope the readers enjoy my work. I hope they smile as I smile, frown when I frowned, shake their heads in horror at the depths of evilness some people had and nod with satisfaction when the Liverpool police get their man – or woman.

So here we go; now my Liverpool Crime book is out there.

Malcolm

http://www.malcolmarchibald.com

 

About malcolmarchibald

Happily married for 34 years to Cathy, I have three grown children and live in the depths of Moray in northern Scotland. I was educated in Edinburgh and Dundee and work as a lecturer in Inverness, while writing historical books, both fiction and fact.
This entry was posted in Abduction, crime, England, Gretna Green, Historical Crime, Liverpool, murder, New York, Shipping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feelings of publication

  1. It’s kind of like exposing a part of your soul for judgment. But anyone who knows you or has read your writing knows well enough that you’re good at what you do. I’m sure you have nothing to worry about. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Krista. I wish I shared your confidence!

  3. Zyriacus says:

    Its like gardening, Malcolm. Everybody envies the beautiful flowers, the immaculate lawn, but nobody sees the labour and the backache that brought it all about. Congrats to the new book.

Leave a Reply

