Strange how things pan out

Isn’t it strange how things pan out in the writing world. When I was working on my university dissertation on Dundee whaling, I realised that the whaling men were a bit, how shall I say this. . . rough. I developed an interest in them, which led to three books on whaling and two research jobs, plus a score or so of presentations and talks the length and breadth of Scotland.

Then, later, when I was working on the influence of City Improvements on population movements, I took a side-swipe at crime and opened a whole new area of interest. Before I knew where I was I was deep into Victorian crime, which led to a number of non-fiction popular history books and my Detective Mendick series of Victorian crime novels. One thing just leads to another.

Following the same trend, when Cathy and I moved up to Moray I was fascinated by the carved Pictish stones and the legends of the Wolf of Badenoch. I wrote a fantasy novel based on that most intriguing of Scottish bad men. I self published that a few years back but only two days ago Creativia publishing have re-issued it with a new cover and hopefully a new lease of life. Now I am working on a second fantasy novel.  . strange how one thing leads to another.

I wonder what is on the cards for the rest of this year?

http://www.malcolmarchibald.com

 

About malcolmarchibald

Happily married for 34 years to Cathy, I have three grown children and live in the depths of Moray in northern Scotland. I was educated in Edinburgh and Dundee and work as a lecturer in Inverness, while writing historical books, both fiction and fact.
This entry was posted in After publication, Books, crime, Crime; History, Historical Crime, history, Luck, writing, crime,, mythology,, publication, books, author, publishers, publishing, superstition, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

